By Walter Adewale

Villareal Football Club on Wednesday night defeated Manchester United to win its first Europa League trophy.

Both teams were exceptional throughout the 2020/2021 Uefa Europa League season, knocking out so many great teams before reaching the final.

It was a big night for Ole Gunnar Solskjaer as he aimed to lay his hands on a silverware as Manchester United manager. Unai Emery who has won it three consecutive times with Sevilla created some for Manchester United as he displayed his a game dexterity.

Manchester United have not won any trophy since 2017, the last trophy they won was the Europa League when Jose Mourinho was in charge as Man United head coach.

Villareal took the lead in the 29th minutes with Daniel Parejo’s cross from a free kick from Gerard Moreno who sent the ball right inside the post.

Edinson Cavani levelled the game at the 55th minute through a rebound inside the penalty box and gleefully rifled the ball low into the middle of the net to make it 1-1.

The second half finished 1-1 with the outcome of the game to be decided in the extra time. At the end of the game Villareal won the Europa League for the first time in the clubs history, making it 4th win for their coach Unai Emery who had won it three times previously with other clubs.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.