Nigerian workers to receive #27,000 as the new minimum wage. This was approved by the National Council of States on Tuesday at its meeting at the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

According to our correspondent, the Council’s approval, a minimum wage bill is expected to be sent to the National Assembly on Wednesday.

The Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, the Federal Government has promised to add #3,000 to the approved amount to make it 30,000 for its workers.

The Labour suggested that the states were at liberty to augment the new agreement as they deemed fit.
However, exemptions, were given to private and public organisations employing less than 25 workers who are bounded by the N18,000 minimum wage.

The Council, however, set N27,000 as the new benchmark that any lowest paid worker (that is Grade Level 1 Step 1) would get. The approved amount by the Council of State is N3,000 short of the N30,000 that the Tripartite Committee on Review of National Minimum Wage recommended.

The committee, chaired by a former Head of Service of the Federation, Ms Ama Pepple, had submitted the report, which contained the recommended figure, to President Muhammadu Buhari on November 6, 2018, after many months of deliberations.

Prior to the committee’s recommendation, in October, state governors had offered to pay N22,500as minimum wage.

Nine days after the committee recommended N30,000, on November 15, the Nigeria Governors’ Forum insisted that the states cannot pay the amount, leading to criticism by organised Labour which insisted on N30,000.

On January 8, 2019, the Nigeria Labour Congress held a nationwide protest over delay by the Federal Government to transmit a new minimum wage bill to the National Assembly.

President Muhammadu Buhari presided over the Council of State’s meeting which had in attendance Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, as well as former Presidents, Heads of State, and former Chief Justices of Nigeria, former Head of State Ernest Shonekan, Olusegun Obasanjo, Abdulsalami Abubakar, and Goodluck Jonathan.

Others present were: Senate President, Bukola Saraki, governors of Zamfara, Kebbi, Plateau, Lagos, Borno, and Ebonyi, as well as members of the President’s cabinet.

Categories: NEWS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.